Mariam K. Chamberlain Award

ICRW Board Chair Scott Jackson and 2017 Mariam K. Chamberlain Award Winner, Kate Price

Dr. Mariam K. Chamberlain was the founding president of the National Council for Research on Women, which merged with ICRW in September 2016. Dr. Chamberlain was a true visionary whose contributions to the feminist and social justice movements can be seen across the world by generations of women. Mariam was a key force in shaping and launching the women’s studies and academic research movements in the United States and worldwide through her work as a Program Officer at the Ford Foundation in the 1960s and 1970s. She provided the strategic vision, funding and support to launch university and college-based centers and freestanding policy institutes focused on women’s issues. Mariam helped build a network of dedicated and accomplished leaders committed to advancing women, especially in academia, and helped cultivate lasting institutional support for their work.

Under Mariam’s leadership, the organization increased and promoted research on women, built alliances for collaborative work and advanced research into policy applications. Her vision has evolved into a dynamic network of thought leaders and change agents working to ensure more fully informed debates, policies and practices, thereby contributing to a more inclusive and equitable world for women and girls, their families and their communities.

Through a generous $100,000 matching grant from the Ford Foundation, the organization established the Mariam K. Chamberlain Dissertation Award to honor and extend Mariam’s vision. The Award enabled Re:Gender and now ICRW to continue Mariam’s work promoting mentorship as well as high-level scholarship. The Mariam K. Chamberlain Dissertation Award creates an opportunity for a first-generation doctoral student, including immigrant students, to continue working on a dissertation under the close supervision of a senior dissertation advisor over an academic year.

Apply for the 2020-2021 Award by clicking here. The deadline to apply is October 20, 2020.

2020 Mariam K. Chamberlain Award

In its fourth year administering (seventh year overall) the Mariam K. Chamberlain Award, ICRW is proud to honor Leila Gautham, a researcher who is focusing her research on the intersections of gender, care and development.

Read More

2019 Mariam K. Chamberlain Award

In its third year administering (sixth year overall) the Mariam K. Chamberlain Award, ICRW bestowed the award on Abhilasha Sahay, a researcher who is delving in to the intersection of development economics and public policy, specifically focusing on gender, crime and health.

Read More

2018 Mariam K. Chamberlain Award

In its second year administering the Mariam K. Chamberlain Award (fifth year of the award), ICRW was honored to celebrate Ashleigh LoVette, a researcher dedicated to understanding the psychological resilience of girls and young women living in the context of sustained HIV risk in South Africa.

Read More

2017 Mariam K. Chamberlain Award

The International Center for Research on Women was pleased to announce the recipient of the 2017 Mariam K. Chamberlain Dissertation Award, Kate Price of the University of Massachusetts, Boston, for her research to improve laws and policies to support children in the United States who are victims of commercial sexual exploitation and trafficking.

“Thank you … for the Chamberlain Dissertation Award!! Tomorrow morning I will present my dissertation results to the very anti-human trafficking advocates who are working tirelessly to ensure sexually exploited minors are not being arrested or prosecuted for prostitution in the United States … I am beyond thrilled to be able to directly apply and communicate my empirical evidence on the social, economic, and political factors driving (or hindering) this policy change.” ~ Kate Price, Oct. 2019

Read more

2016 Mariam K. Chamberlain Award

ICRW was pleased to announce the winning team for the Third Annual Mariam K. Chamberlain Dissertation Award: Desiree Barron-Callaci, a doctoral student in Anthropology at New York Universiry, and her advisor Fred Myers, NYU Silver Professor of Anthropology, for her research into how rugby culture shapes gendered perceptions of Māori men and women in New Zealand.

Read more

2015 Mariam K. Chamberlain Award

ICRW congratulated Ashley Mog and her advisor, Dr. Sherrie Tucker, the recipient team for the 2015 Mariam K. Chamberlain Dissertation Award. Ashley was a doctoral candidate at the University of Kansas and a Visiting Scholar at the Center for the Study of Women, Gender, and Sexuality at Rice University. Her dissertation Discomforting Power: Bodies in Public rethinks and reframes the ways in which race, gender, and disability are intertwined and how they are determined, felt and policed.

Read more

2014 Mariam K. Chamberlain Award

The recipient team for the inaugural award were Diana Y. Salas Coronado and her advisor, Dr. Randy Albelda. Diana was a doctoral candidate and a Center for Social Policy research associate at the McCormack Graduate School of Policy and Global Studies at the University of Massachusetts Boston. Her dissertation, Gender and State-Level Immigrant Policies, focused on gender, immigration, and state policies.

The Award was presented to Diana during “Women and Economic Security: Changing Policy and Practice,” Re:Gender’s joint conference with the Center for the Education of Women.

Diana's Acceptance Remarks