Champions for Change Award

The Champions for Change Award celebrates the possibilities of a gender equitable world and honors the leaders and visionaries who are helping to make that world a reality.  Since 2006, ICRW has conferred its prestigious Champions for Change Award upon those who demonstrate remarkable leadership in promoting the rights and well-being of women and girls.


Paula Kantor Award

In 2016, ICRW created the Paula Kantor Award, in memory of our former colleague Dr. Paula Kantor, who died in the aftermath of a terrorist attack in Kabul, Afghanistan in May 2015.  The annual award is given to a young female researcher who is a citizen of a sub-Saharan African country in order to recognize and honor outstanding achievement in the fields of gender and empowerment of women and girls.


Mariam K. Chamberlain Dissertation Award

Dr. Mariam K. Chamberlain was the founding president of the National Council for Research on Women, which merged with ICRW in September 2016.  ICRW continues this legacy, awarding $10,000 annually to one student and their dissertation adviser.  Applicants should be first generation college graduates (includes immigrant students), and the dissertation theme must be related to ICRW’s mission to end gender inequity around the world.