Institutional Review Board

ICRW strives to adhere to the highest ethical standards when conducting human subjects research (HSR) and to create a culture of respect for, and awareness of, the rights, safety, and welfare of human research subjects. ICRW’s Human Research Protection Program (HRPP) office determines which projects fall under the purview of the HRPP (exempt HSR) and IRB (non-exempt HSR), and the type of review, if any, that is required in accordance with the U.S. Federal regulations, and ensures all individuals engaged in the conduct or oversight of research involving human subjects complete appropriate human subjects research protection training.

Since 2007, ICRW’s Institutional Review Board (IRB) has worked with our partners and researchers, providing stringent assessment to assure ICRW-affiliated non-exempt research is designed and conducted in a manner that protects the rights of human subjects; protects human subjects from risk of harm; ensures that the benefits of research outweigh its risks and that subjects’ participation is voluntary; preserve the dignity of human subjects; and ensures that human subjects provide informed consent to participate in the research, with the exception of specific circumstances approved by the IRB.

ICRW’s IRB is comprised of external and internal technical and research experts, reflects racial, gender and cultural diversity, and includes individuals sensitive to community issues. IRB members have professional and IRB experience or training to critically review research objectives, procedures and conduct in accordance with regulations, laws and professional standards. The IRB has scientific, non-scientific, and non-affiliated representatives, and is registered with the Office of Human Research Protection (OHRP) under the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.  When reviewing research proposals the ICRW IRB adheres to the principles outlined in the Belmont Report: Ethical Principles and Guidelines for the Protection of Human Subjects of Research, as well as with the federal regulations, outlined in U.S. Federal Code of Regulations (CFR), 45 CFR 46 Subpart A (The Common Rule), B, C, and D.

The IRB has scientific and non-scientific representatives. A full list of current IRB members is below.

John Townshend, Chair
VP and Director, Reproductive Health
Population Council

Shana Williams, Vice Chair
Business Development Manager
International Center for Research on Women

Katherine Fritz
Senior Research Advisor
International Center for Research on Women

Myra Jacobs
Biological Scientist

Rohini Pande
Social Demographer

Sid Schuler
Social Anthropologist

Laurie Calhoun (alternate)
Senior Information Resources Specialist
International Center for Research on Women

Jeff Edmeades (alternate)
Senior Social Demographer
International Center for Research on Women

Amy Gregowski (alternate)
Senior Research and Evaluation Specialist
International Center for Research on Women

Laura Hinson (alternate)
Social and Behavioral Scientist
International Center for Research on Women

Priti Prabhughate (alternate)
Senior Technical Specialist
International Center for Research on Women

Natacha Stevanovic-Fenn (alternate)
Gender and Development Specialist
International Center for Research on Women